Amara is proud to be led and supported by a stellar cast – our Board of Directors, Advisory Councils for King and Pierce counties, and staff.

Board of Directors

Robin Rothe, President
Trustee, Thomas C. Wright Foundation

Hillary Carey, Vice President
Chief Business Officer, Rwanda Girls Initiative

Paul Abodeely, Treasurer
Community Volunteer

Dan Absher
President, Absher Construction

Libuse Binder
Executive Director, Stand for Children Washington

Juan Cotto
Director of Social Impact, Bloodworks Northwest

Ben Danielson, MD
Medical Director, Odessa Brown Children’s Clinic

Catherine Gleason
Community Volunteer; Retired Principal, Deloitte Consulting

Paul Goebel
Chief Operating Officer, Coordinated Care

Frankie Johnson
Director of Property Management, Tacoma Housing Authority

Lori Langston
Community Volunteer

Cathy Pew, MD, Secretary
Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, University of Washington

Ginny Trethewey
Community Volunteer

Jamal Whitehead
Attorney, Schroeter Goldmark & Bender




In Gratitude

We were honored to have had Walt Zabriskie as our Board Treasurer and dear friend of Amara for over 10 years. His commitment to children and our community was incomparable and he will be forever missed.


Walt gazes at the beautiful bench on our Seattle campus dedicated in gratitude to his support.


Pierce County Advisory Council

Dan Absher, Chair
President, Absher Construction, Amara Board of Directors’ Advisory Council Liaison

Frank Cuthbertson
Pierce County Superior Court Judge

John Gaines
Community Relations Manager, TPU & President, PDLA

Bruce Dammeier
Pierce County Executive

Fahren Johnson
Greater Tacoma Community Foundation Program Manager of Expanded Learning Opportunities

Michael Mirra
Executive Director, Tacoma Housing Authority

Lyle Quasim
Retired Secretary Washington Department of Social and Health Service

Scott Selden
CEO, Selden’s Furniture

Victoria Woodards
Mayor, City of Tacoma

Jeff Woodworth
President, Woodworth Capital

Dee Wilson
Child Welfare Expert (Casey Family Programs, State of Washington),Retired


King County Advisory Council

Alan Frazier, Chair
Chairman and Founder, Frazier Healthcare Partners, and Managing Partner, East Seattle Partners

Dean Allen
CEO, McKinstry

Joel Benoliel
Senior Vice President, Administration & Chief Legal Officer, Costco Wholesale (ret.)

Justice Bobbe J. Bridge (ret.)
President and CEO, Center for Children & Youth Justice

Brad Brown
Senior Vice President, Digital Retail and Customer Support, REI (ret.)

Jean Enersen
Anchor, KING 5 (ret.)

Steve Graham
Managing Partner, Seattle Office, Fenwick & West, LLP

Fred Jarrett
Senior Deputy King County Executive

Robert Moser
President and CEO, Laird Norton Wealth Management

Representative Eric Pettigrew
Washington State House of Representatives

Paul L. Wyckoff
Tech Infrastructure Designer



Amara Staff



Kara Andersen
Family Support Specialist

Liesl Arceneaux
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Taylor Arthur
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Carrie Bassett
Philanthropy Officer

Kristina Bates Greene
Foster Care Services Supervisor

Danielle Blechert
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Brenda Bobadilla
Foster Care Specialist

Deshanna Brown
Foster Care Specialist

Martha Buchta-Spevack
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Julianne Bukey Peterson
Associate Director, Program Impact and Evaluation

Theo Calhoun
Family Time Visitation Specialist

Erin Chambers
Pierce County Development Manager

Deborah Collins
Associate Director, Foster Care Services

Lindsay Craven
Emergency Sanctuary Program Manager, King County

Katie Davis
Annual Giving and Stewardship Officer

Quenby Delgado
Foster Care Specialist

Jennifer Diaz
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Alyssa Farber
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Katie Ferguson
Fostering Family Manager

Constanta Florescu
Staff Accountant

Danielle Hammond
Family Time Visitation Specialist

Mari Halpert
Foster Care Specialist

Kari Hanson
Family Outreach Coordinator

Sarah Hasbrook
Foster Care Specialist

Samantha Headley
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Branik Healow
Emergency Sanctuary Program Coordinator, King County

Julie Hoffman
Best for Babies Program Coordinator

Anne Holloway
Foster Care Specialist

Veronica Houff
Foster Care Specialist

Whitney Hunt
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Cynthia Isabell
Foster Care Specialist

Marilee Jolin
Communications Manager

Devon Kerr
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Rena Konomis
Confidential Intermediary

Tricia Lambie
Foster Care Services Supervisor

Michelle Lopez
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Melinda Lowe
Events Manager

Colleen Madsen
Foster Care Specialist

Claudia Marchen
Post-Adoption Program Coordinator

Rebecca Mercer
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Anna McKnight
Operations Coordinator

Maria Mello
Family Time Coordinator

Michelle Newton
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Doretha Parnell
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Emily Pringle
Foster Care Specialist

Trey Rabun
Foster Care Services Supervisor

Analis Rivasplata-Newton
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Alex Ropes
Volunteer Manager

Bethany Ruggles
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Emily Scofield
Operations Manager

Laura Shell
Lead Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Mary Schlichter
Foster Care Services Supervisor

Emily Sigler
Client Services Coordinator

Danielle Small
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Gretchen Stewart
Foster Care Specialist

Chelsea Talbert
Pierce County Partnership and Engagement Manager

Devon Thoden
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Elyse Thomas
Foster Care Specialist

Taylor Trujillo
Volunteer and Philanthropy Coordinator

Cristina Tzintzun
Family Time Visitation Specialist

Jenny von Veh
Child Placement Coordinator

Jennifer Wheeler
Foster Care Specialist

Sarah Wheeler
Emergency Sanctuary Program Manager, Pierce County

Eli Wills
Therapeutic Childcare Specialist

Kristen Wilson
Foster Care Specialist


John Morse
Chief Executive Officer | 206.260.1701

Dong Nam
Chief Financial Officer | 206.260.1704

Maureen Sorenson
Chief Community Officer | 253.235.4875

Ruth Tollefson
Chief Philanthropy Officer | 206.438.3938

Ross Hiranaga
Director of Children’s Services | 253.533.2980

Nicole Mazen
Director of Foster Care Services | 206.260.1720

Amie Newman
Director of Communications and Outreach | 206.260.1718

Angela Tucker
Director of Post-Adoption Services | 206.260.1741